The Time Has Come

After 2,000 years of waiting, the time had at long last come.

A baby girl was born – spotless and perfect. We all rejoiced when she entered the world. For in time she would bear the long awaited one.

***

Seconds turned into minutes into days into years so quickly for us. So slowly for them down below.

We watched her grow in grace and beauty. Humble. Pure. Gifted with grace. But she was no creature of stone and wood. She laughed. She cried. She played.

And she prayed.

We listened to her prayers and they were like the sweetest of music.

She prayed for her family.

She prayed for her friends.

She prayed for those she knew and for those she did not know.

For the living and for the dead.

And she prayed that the long awaited one would come to set things right.

***

The time had come.

The day we had all longed for.

I was the one chosen to go speak to her.

Her, so full of grace.

I felt no fear, no nervousness.

Only hope. Only joy.

I came down to find her kneeling in prayer.

She looked up at me and was unafraid.

I spoke the words that were entrusted to me and I spoke them with joy, “Hail, full of grace. The Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou amongst women.”

My words troubled her. I could see it clear in her face. Perhaps she did not understand my greeting or she feared I was the evil one in disguise. Either way, I needed to reassure her. “Fear not. For you have found favor with God.” I told her of God’s great plan for her.

Yet, I could see that she was still troubled by my words. “How will this be? I know not man.”

Now, I understood her concern and I loved her all the more for it. “No man will touch thee. The Holy Ghost shall come upon thee, and the power of the Highest shall overshadow thee.”

Peace came over her countenance.

“Therefore also the child that shall be born of thee shall be called the Son of God.” Lest she have any doubts, although I could see none in her face, I continued,  “And, behold, your cousin Elizabeth, she hath also conceived a son in her old age.This is the sixth month with her, who was called barren.  For with God nothing shall be impossible.”

She pressed her hands to her heart and bowed her head. “Behold the handmaid of the Lord. Be it done to me according to thy word.”

It was her choice to refuse or accept. And she accepted. Out of love of God. Out of humility.

And we all rejoiced.

Leave a Reply

