Jesus Meets Simeon

After Eli and his clan left, Joseph sat beside Mary.

Mary held her baby in her arms and gently rocked Him. She sang Him a lullaby her own mother had sung to her.

The melody was gentle and the words were sweet.

Joseph smiled. If only this moment could be live in my mind forever, so I could never forget.

He wrapped his arm around her shoulders and sang along with her.

And the baby fell asleep in her arms.

***

The time came to present Him to the priests in the temple. Mary and Joseph travelled to Jerusalem. Mary carried the baby and Joseph carried the sacrifice – two turtledoves.

The baby watched with wide open eyes as the world passed Him by. Every sight and every sound was both new and old to Him. And it was all wonderful in His eyes.

They entered the temple and He cried out – a single joyful sound.

An elderly man with a long white beard approached them. “Excuse me. May I see your child?”

Mary and Joseph exchanged looks.

“I am Simeon. I will do no harm to your child. Please. May I hold Him?”

“Yes.” Mary offered her child to him.

He took the baby into his arms. Peace came upon the old man’s face. “O Lord, my Lord! Praise be to Thee. For now Thou dost dismiss Thy servant, O Lord, according to Thy word, in peace. Because my eyes have seen Thy salvation which Thou hast prepared before the face of all peoples. A light to the revelation of the Gentiles, and the glory of Thy people Israel.”

Mary and Joseph wondered at his words.

“Blessed be the Lord and may His blessings rain down on you, the parents of this beloved child. Behold this child is set for the fall and for the resurrection of many in Israel and for a sign which shall be contradicted.”

He returned the child to Mary’s arms. “And behold. Thy own soul a sword shall pierce, that out of many hearts, thoughts may be revealed.”

A chill came over her. A sword shall pierce my own soul. she thought. What does it mean? She looked down at the child in her arms and hugged him tight. “My love, my son, my darling You. Unworthy, I love You.”

 

Leave a Reply

